Walker Art Gallery – John Moores Painting Prize 2010

John Moores Painting Prize 2010
18 September 2010 – 3 January 2011

Puddles, pleasure and protest all feature in this year’s John Moores Painting Prize. 45 paintings shortlisted from almost 3,000 entrants cover traditional themes of portraiture, landscape, still lives and abstracts but their execution and direction are far from old fashioned, proving the vitality and power of contemporary painting.

Held at the Walker Art Gallery, the John Moores Painting Prize, is the UK’s biggest painting prize. With a first prize of £25,000, plus four runner-up prizes of £2,500, it’s entered anonymously and open to all UK-based artists working with paint. This year the popular Visitors’ Choice prize will award its winner £2010.    

The full list of shortlisted artists:

1. Cornelia Baltes: THERE YOU ARE!                
2. Jon Braley: Untitled                
3. GL Brierley: Jilly Jiggy                
4. Deborah Burnstone: Freeway                
5. Darren Coffield: Episodical            
6. Keith Coventry: Spectrum Jesus                
7. Edward Coyle: Multiplicity study                
8. Theo Cuff: Untitled                 
9. Stuart Cumberland: YLLW240                
10. Ian Davenport: Puddle Painting: Dioxazine            
11. Philip Diggle: For Your Pleasure                
12. Tim Ellis: United in Different Guises XXXXIII            
13. Geraint Evans: An Alpine Biodome                
14. Adam Fearon: Untitled                
15. Damien Flood: Drip                
16. Nick Fox: Metatopia
17. David Fulford: Near the Site
18. Mikey Georgeson: Untitled (Dopamine – Molecule of Intuition)
19. Chris Hamer: Crook
20. Andy Harper: Frau Troffea
21. Richard Harrison: Mountain Peaks
22. Sigrid Holmwood: Butchering a Pig
23. Phil Illingworth: 3D painting No.1 (experiments with colour reflection)
24. Lee Johnson: The Kerchief or Dr Olfato’s Welcome
25. Neal Jones: Orange Paving
26. Joseph Long: Hortus Botanicus
27. Elizabeth McDonald: Bee Keepers I
28. Nicholas Middleton: Protest, 1st April 2009
29. Michael Miller: Suspended Animation
30. Matthew Mounsey: Prehistoric Sex Machine
31. Jost Münster: To the left
32. Cara Nahaul: Somewhere between prayer and agenda
33. Narbi Price: Untitled See Saw Painting
34. Steven Proudfoot: The Party
35. Sabrina Shah: Witness
36. Annabelle Shelton: Helter Skelter Runway
37. George Sherlock: Polycrylic Decades
38. Michael Simpson: Bench Painting Untitled
39. Henrietta Simson: Giotto’s Template
40. Veronica Smirnoff: Lubo
41. Ian Peter Smith: Matter at the edge
42. Daniel Sturgis: Still Squallings
43. Geraldine Swayne: Industrialist on Wheels
44. Jason Thompson: Refractions (Robert Hooke)
45. Christian Ward: Frontier Monument

Jury for John Moores 2010:

Gary Hume, Alison Watt, Ged Quinn, Goshka Macuga, Sir Norman Rosenthal

This year, for the first time, a parallel prize The John Moores Painting Prize China will form part of the Biennial Festival of Contemporary Art of Painting in China. The five prizewinners from the Chinese competition will be exhibited in the Walker Art Gallery, alongside the UK prizewinners. This has been organised by the John Moores Liverpool Exhibiton Trust and the University of Shanghai.

Venue Details

Episodical by Darren Coffield, 2010 Acrylic on canvas (96 x 81 cm)