The Bluecoat: Sparkle

7 – 8 December 2013

10.30 – 17.00

The Bluecoat will be twinkling with “Sparkle” when the Mersey Jewellers and Metal Artists Network display their jewellery and metal work. There will be a range of styles, techniques and materials, from intricate enamel and colourful aluminium to delicate wire work and stunning precious metals with prices suitable for stocking fillers up to the ultimate unique Christmas gift.

The Mersey Jewellers and Metal Artists Network (MJMAN) is a group of independent jewellers and metal artists working within Merseyside, originally set up in 1994 for mutual support, promotion and to encourage the highest standards of design and craftsmanship. These aims remain important today but as a group MJMAN has decided to disband in 2014 which will mark our 20th anniversary.  The group of independent jewellers and metal artists from Liverpool, Wirral and throughout Merseyside has exhibited widely throughout the Northwest with themed exhibitions and the much anticipated annual Christmas sale “Sparkle” , but the current members of MJMAN are busy exhibiting nationally and internationally so the decision to close the group and have a final retrospective in 2014 was made earlier this year. This will be the final Christmas exhibition for the collective.

One of the original members of MJMAN, award winning enameller, Ruth Ball from Southport said of the forthcoming display “I was there at the first meeting of MJMAN in 1994 and I am really sad that this is the final sparkle as it is always a wonderful display  but I am looking forward to the possibility of a retrospective in 2014 to celebrate 20 dazzling years”. Ruth will be at SPARKLE with MJMAN to chat about her work and display recent pieces.

Members from past and present will be displaying their collections for 2 days only in the Bluecoat and all works will be for sale. The exhibiting jewellers and metal artists artists are Ruth Ball, Judith Brown, Anne Crabtree, Emma Farnworth, Elaine Jenkins, Linda Jeanne Jones, Julia Lightfoot, Laura Naylor, Alan Phillips, Alison Bailey Smith, Barry Swerdlow, Anthony Wong and Lisa Waldman.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here