Milapfest announces the winners of the 4th annual National Indian Arts Awards

Jayanthi Kumaresh & Priyadarsini Govind

Milapfest announces the winners of the 4th annual NATIONAL INDIAN ARTS AWARDS 2018
Recognising & celebrating great talent & achievement in Indian Arts in Britain

Milapfest have announced the recipients of this year’s National ​Indian Arts Awards. The Jury have had a tough time deciding the winners from an extremely talented and deserving group of amazing arts professionals​ and young stars.

The awards will be conferred at a glittering ceremony at London’s Southbank Centre on Thursday 14th June. The ceremony is kindly supported by our media partner, Asian Voice, and our education partner, Liverpool Hope University, and will be presided over by Sir Nicholas Serota (Chair of Arts Council England), His Excellency Mr YK Sinha (High Commissioner of India) and Baron Gadhia of Northwood (Member of the House of Lords).

The recipient of this year’s Vishwa Kala Ratna (International Award), Dr Jayanthi Kumaresh, will take to the stage for a very special post-ceremony concert. This is open to the public and we encourage you to get your tickets now for what is set to be an electrifying display of music prowess.

They also welcome Priyadarsini Govind, the recipient of our very first Vishwa Kala Ratna award in 2016 to this year’s ceremony.

This year has also seen the induction of a brand new award, the Kala Ratna, which celebrates groundbreaking contribution to Indian Arts and Culture in a wide variety of capacities. The first ever recipient of this award is Pritpal Ajimal for his unique talent and legacy of innovative design work celebrating Indian arts.