7 Buildings in the North West Win National Architecture Award

Paradise Street bridge, Liverpool


I love that bridge but it does feel weird when I walk across it, so many angles makes it disorienting.

7 Buildings in the North West win national architecture award

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has announced the winners of the 2009 RIBA Awards. 7 winners in the North West will today win an RIBA Award.

The winning projects range from the renovated Midland Hotel in Morecambe to the Liverpool One Masterplan, with the judges commenting that the latter has created ‘a vibrant and economically successful retail, leisure and mixed-use quarter – an entirely revitalised city centre that now connects properly with the Docks,’ whilst the architect of the former received praise for restoring ‘the glory of an original design by Edward Paley’ and adding ‘a layer of lively contemporary design’.

The 7 buildings in the North West that have won RIBA Awards are:

1. 13b Paradise Street, Liverpool, Allies and Morrison
2. BDP Studio, Manchester, BDP
3. Liverpool One Masterplan, Liverpool, BDP
4. Midland Hotel, Morecambe, Union North
5. Paradise Street Bridge, Liverpool, Wilkinson Eyre Architects
6. Private House, Stockport, MBLA Architects + Urbanists
7. Three Towers, Manchester, Union North

RIBA Awards for architectural excellence will be presented across the country today with 103 buildings in the UK and Europe winning awards (97 in the UK and six in the rest of the EU).
RIBA President Sunand Prasad said about the 2009 RIBA Award winners:

‘The RIBA Awards are a thermometer to indicate the state of health of British architecture and for 2009 the results are good: both quality and quantity have been maintained. This year’s list accurately reflects both the diversity, and the workload of UK architecture, with more schools and health buildings than usual winning awards.  It is particularly heartening to see more schemes that are about regenerating our cities, towns and countryside.  These awards,  which are judged on a regional basis, reflect and reward the good things that are going on all across the UK, and they also form the basis of what promises to be another interesting year for the RIBA Stirling Prize.’

The North West winners were announced at a ceremony on 20 May 2009 at Urbis, Manchester which was sponsored by Steelcase.

The RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist will be drawn from the 103 RIBA Award winners. The RIBA Stirling Prize, in association with The Architects’ Journal and Crystal Digital Technology is awarded to the architects of the building that has made the greatest contribution to British architecture in the past year.  The prize will be presented at Old Billingsgate, London on Saturday 17 October 2009 and broadcast live on Channel 4.