Tate Liverpool: Art Gym

Tate Liverpool: Art Gym Tate Liverpool: Art Gym


Venue: Tate Liverpool
Dates: 07/03/2016 - 31/03/2016
Times: 10:00


Monday 7 – Thursday 31 March 2016

Visitors to Tate Liverpool will feel the burn when they take part in Art Gym, a three week programme of free drop-in classes, lectures and workshops that embrace art, design, music and film.

From Monday 7–Thursday 31 March 2016 Tate Collective Liverpool, a youth art initiative, and Turner Prize winners Assemble are giving the public the opportunity to pump their creative muscles.

Inspired by a traditional gym, Art Gym offers everyone of all ages and abilities the chance to create a personal programme designed to learn new creative skills or develop existing ones. Instead of kettlebells and treadmills there will be art stations teaching everything from traditional bookmaking to digital art production. So from a gentle stretch to high intensity training, Art Gym offers something for everyone to release their creative endorphins.

Following Assemble’s Turner Prize success Tate Collective have invited the art, architecture and design collective to collaborate and co-design the gym-like environment with them. This multi-purpose space forms the heart of Art Gym and is custom built to host classes, workshops and lectures.

A wide range of artists will host a series of free workshops to teach and develop skills including photography, critical writing, craft work and alternative life drawing. Meanwhile Tate Collective and the gallery’s Visitor Assistant Team will act as Art Gym instructors, on hand to help visitors plan their creative workout, give demonstrations, offer one-to-one reflective sessions and help them achieve their art goals.

Art Gym is the culmination of a staged kidnapping of Tate Liverpool by Tate Collective Liverpool and Assemble. Entitled We Have Your Art Gallery, the kidnapping resulted in a series of ransom notes that the young people developed with Assemble listing demands for things they wanted to see in the gallery. Via these notes an agreement was reached to transform the gallery space into a temporary art school, now called Art Gym.

The three week programme forms part of Tate Liverpool’s spring season, Make it Yours. The season sees the gallery embrace new approaches and ideas and puts creativity at the heart of the gallery. Make it Yours offers visitors the chance to feel inspired, learn something new and get creative.

Timetablevisit the Tate Liverpool webpage for full details, latest info and bookings

Special Event – Art Gym Launch
Monday 7 March 2016, 10.00 – 17.00

Art Gym: Easter Chocolate Hunt
Sunday 27 March 2016, 10.00 – 17.00
Monday 28 March 2016, 10.00 – 17.00

Courses and workshops

Film and Photography on Your Mobile Phone
Tuesday 8 March 2016, 13.00 – 16.00

Art Gym: Think Like and Artist
Wednesday 9 March 2016, 14.00 – 15.00

Art Gym: Sew Your Sole
Friday 11 March 2016, 13.00 – 16.00

Art Gym: Small Cinema for Children
Saturday 12 March 2016, 13.00 – 16.00

Art Gym: Build a Pinhole Camera
Sunday 13 March 2016, 13.00 – 16.00
Sunday 20 March 2016, 13.00 – 16.00

Art Gym: Block Printing
Monday 14 March 2016, 13.00 – 16.00

Art Gym: Digital versus Analogue
Tuesday 15 March 2016, 13.00 – 16.00

Art Gym: To and Fro
Thursday 17 March 2016, 13.00 – 16.00

Art Gym: DIY Film-making
Friday 18 March 2016, 13.00 – 16.00

Art Gym: Granby Wood Block Printing
Monday 21 March 2016, 13.00 – 16.00

Art Gym: Text Adventures Workout
22 March 2016, 13.00-14.00 and 14.00-15.00

Art Gym: Zining Day: How it feels when I’m included…
Wednesday 23 March 2016, 13.00 – 16.00

Art Gym: Alternative Life Drawing
Thursday 24 March 2016, 13.00 – 16.00

Art Gym: Let’s Make a Zine
Tuesday 29 March 2016, 13.00 – 16.00

Art Gym: The Wellmaking Clinic
Wednesday 30 March 2016, 13.00 – 16.00

Talks and lectures
Art Gym: Artist Tale: Rose Wylie (booking essential)
Saturday 19 March 2016, 14.00 – 15.30

Art Gym: Artist Talk: Bedwyr Williams (booking essential)
Saturday 26 March 2016, 14.00 – 15.30

Art Gym at Tate Liverpool. © Tate Liverpool, Roger Sinek
Art Gym at Tate Liverpool. © Tate Liverpool, Roger Sinek