Capstone Theatre Launches Autumn 2019 Season

Liverpool Hope University’s Capstone Theatre is delighted to announce the launch of its Autumn 2019 Season, which runs from October to December 2019, fusing an eclectic and international selection of artistic treats spanning jazz, contemporary classical music, contemporary dance and drama.

The season opens with two LEAP Dance Festival events, LEAP Community Dance Showcase on Sunday 6th October, and Rosie Kay Dance Company: Fantasia on Tuesday 8th October 2019. Fantasia fuses ballet with neurology in a new piece exploring what it is that makes dance so beautiful to watch and experience.

As ever, contemporary jazz is well-represented in the programme, with concerts by John Law’s ReCreations (Friday 18th October), exquisite music for accordion and piano from France’s Machado Ithursarry Duo (Friday 8th November), Luxembourgish piano trio Reis-Demuth-Wiltgen (Friday 15th November) and a concert by Norwegian saxophone genius Marius Neset (Friday 22nd November).

Musical experimentation and adventure features heavily in the programme with concerts by psychedelic-folk songwriter Robyn Hitchcock (Saturday 19th October), a programme of free improvised music for massed voices, Interactions: A Festival of Voices (Saturday 9th November), a piano extravaganza featuring sets by five Liverpool based piano composers, PIANO FORTE (Sunday 24th November) and an innovative concert of music for piano and electronics by Australian-Taiwanese piano virtuoso Belle Chen (Friday 29th November).

Later in the season on Tuesday 26th November, pioneering storyteller Sally-Pomme Clayton and girl punk band, The Swamp Girls present The Frog Princess Punked, a funny, feminist and dark punk fairytale for adults with story, music, and live projections.

A highlight of the season, one of the world’s most distinctive voices, Natacha Atlas brings her six-piece band to the Capstone on Thursday 14th November for a performance of songs from her latest album Strange Days. Her unique music, which synthesizes western and middle-eastern vocal traditions, has led her to collaborate with artists such as Peter Gabriel, Jean Michel Jarre and Nitin Sawhney and grace countless Hollywood soundtracks.

Finally, a trio of festive concerts will get Liverpool audiences in the Christmas spirit, starting with Maghull Wind Orchestra who present The Magic of Christmas on Saturday 7th December. A selection of season favourites will be performed by Liverpool Mozart Orchestra in A Seasonal Selection on Sunday 8th December. Rounding off the Christmas offerings and bringing the season to a close, Allerton Brass return for a performance of their new festive show It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas on Saturday 14th December.

For full season listings check out the new season brochure: http://www.thecapstonetheatre.com/media/capstonetheatre/documents/CapstoneAutumn2019_WEB.pdf or visit http://www.thecapstonetheatre.com/whatson/