Williamson Art Gallery & Museum: Adult Art Classes

    Location (with MAP): Williamson Art Gallery & Museum
    Date/Time: Thursday 11 January 2018. - Friday 23 March 2018. All Day
    Event: Class / Course / Workshop - Williamson Art Gallery & Museum: Adult Art Classes
    Add event to your Google Calendar: 0
    ical feed: iCal

    Adult art classes in drawing, painting and mixed media in our dedicated art room at the Williamson Art Gallery, learn in inspirational surroundings.

    Our leader for our adult daytime art classes, Pamela Sullivan has released her dates for 2018 for sessions at the Williamson Art Gallery during the day on Thursdays and Friday mornings. She plans to tie her themes into the exhibition programme for 2018 – initially looking at portraiture with two exhibitions in January. The curatorial team will release the exhibition programme for 2018 very soon but it includes a very strong contemporary local painter with figurative works with multiple view points, a cultural explore of chinese immigrants and their integration with the people of Liverpool, contemporary ceramics and textiles as well as our usual schedule of Williamson Open, Wirral Met Degree Show, Wirral Open Studio Tour.

    The adult art classes as usual are £55 for the ten weeks which works out to be a bargain at £2.75 per hour. Payable in full in advance.

    Many of the classes will be held in our dedicated art room and often utilise objects from our collection for inspiration. The classes also take visits to our sister site, the Birkenhead Priory and Lady Lever Art Gallery as well as “on gallery” sessions with the exhibitions, providing variety for students.

    Here are the details:-

    Drawing Course, all abilities are held on Thursday Mornings 10am to 12 noon

    Painting Course, all abilities are held on Thursday Afternoons 1pm to 3pm

    Mixed Media (a bit of everything) are held on Friday Mornings 10am to 12 noon

    Term dates for your diary

    For classes held on a Thursday

    Start date -Thursday 11th January 2018

    Thursday 18th Jan
    Thursday 25th Jan
    Thursday 1st Feb
    Thursday 8th Feb
    Thursday 15th Feb

    Half Term – no class – 22nd Feb

    Thursday 1st Mar
    Thursday 8th Mar
    Thursday 15th Mar
    Thursday 22nd Mar

    For classes held on a Thursday

    Start Date: Friday 12th 2018

    Friday 19th Jan
    Friday 26th Jan
    Friday 2nd Feb
    Friday 9th Feb
    Friday 16th Feb

    Half Term – no class – 23rd Feb

    Friday 2nd Mar
    Friday 9th Mar
    Friday 16th Mar
    Friday 23rd Mar

    The cost is £55 and places should be paid for in advance of the sessions. ArtFix, the independent art suppliers in the foyer offer at 10% discount to all art students for materials.

    The Williamson art courses are designed for beginners, those who want to brush up on existing skills and also for those who just want a relaxing space to create art work with the benefit of advice and support from the tutor and the group.

    For more information on future classes, contact the gallery on 0151 666 3537 or pamela sullivan@wirral.gov.uk. The classes are held in our specially equipped art room for most of our sessions. Please note we have specially designed tables which can be raised or lowered for wheelchair users.